and so it begins!!!

I am so excited to announce that I’ll be returning to the Czech Republic this year, not just for 2.5 weeks this time, but for the entire summer!! That’s right, I’ll be in Czech for 3 months, from May 24th to August 12th. In the past I’ve gone through my home church, Fellowship Bible Church in Conway, as a part of Josiah Venture English camps. But this year, rather than going with Fellowship, I’ll be interning with Josiah Venture. In case you can’t tell, I’M SO EXCITED I CAN’T STAND IT!!!!!!!!

I was thinking to myself as I began drafting my support letter, how can I keep my supporters in the loop of my journey? And what better way to keep people up to date than by posting weekly on this blog? So what you’ll find here is my weekly (hopefully!) updates during my support raising process and my preparation to spend 3 months across the pond responding to the Great Commission. So why Czech? What is Josiah Venture? What will you be doing? Isn’t it called Czechoslovakia?

In the simplest terms, less than 1% of the country’s population (10 million people) is Evangelical Christian. It’s so hard to wrap my American brain around that, especially since I pass about 4 churches on my way to the church I attend on Sundays. I come from a country where people say they’re Christians to fit in. Far out of my comfort zone, the Czech Republic is one of the most atheistic nations in the world. There is such a great need for the gospel to be shared in Czech, and when I prayed about this internship, God made it abundantly clear that this is where my heart is being lead.

Josiah Venture is a missions organization that focuses on countries in Eastern Europe, to quote their vision statement, “a movement of God among the youth of Central and Eastern Europe that finds its home in the local church and transforms society.” Basically, through Christian English camps, we are able to share the gospel with Czech students who might not otherwise hear it. They then get the opportunity to get plugged into a local church youth group.

My heart is so sold out for Czech. Having been twice now on shorter trips, I know my heart longs to share Christ with these students. In the past, I’ve had the awesome opportunity to assist in teaching Intermediate English and grow to absolutely love teaching and spending time with my class as well as the girls that came to camp and shared the “big room” with me. It’s an English major’s dream! However last year, I was given the task of teaching a class that had never been done before. I taught a drama class for intermediate to advanced English speakers, and in that week of writing skits and performing them, my class was forced to come out of their comfort zone, be vulnerable, and do wacky things in some interesting improv games. There’s nothing like embarrassing yourselves to bring a group closer. By the end of the week, we had become close friends. They didn’t see me, but after I said goodbye to them, I cried like a little baby. What I thought was going to be a giant challenge proved to be a giant challenge that was well beyond worth it.

My support raising process will be a challenge, and I would be totally lying if I said I wasn’t nervous, but I know that my God is bigger than my fear. I know that we serve a good Father who provides. Please keep me in your prayers as I begin this journey. I’m so overjoyed to go back!!!!!!!!!

život je boj

kelleyCharles Bridge

Leave a Reply

