Camp One is Done!!

It’s been awhile since I’ve updated, and a lot has happened since then. Since my last update, we’ve done our first short term team training, traveled to our first English camp with a Czech church from Trutnov and an American team from Arizona, and had a blast of a first camp. It was the first camp not only for our intern team, but for the churches as well. And it really was a great camp. 

I’m writing this update from our second short term team training, and it’s kind of hard to wrap up all that’s happened in this post because a lot has happened. First off, our camp was up in the mountains and it was about 50° on average every day. It’s about double that in Arkansas right now, so I’m praising Jesus for the weather! I had the absolute joy and challenge of teaching the beginner English class at camp, and while that can be hard considering I have little to no knowledge of Czech and had never taught beginner before, I was lucky enough to have two amazing translators and a helper from Arizona that made the class fun, engaging, and most importantly, educational. 

I also had the task of preparing Labyrinth, or gospel night, and it proved to be a bit of a challenge that required God to strengthen me in patience and grace, as well as organization. I’m not a very organized person, so with the help of my team, labyrinth was very successful and we saw students make the decision to follow Jesus, which throws all the stress and challenges out the window in my book. Nothing is ever not worth bringing people closer to Jesus. It was wonderful really, and the enthusiastic Czech and American teams made camp such a success overall. I cannot emphasize how amazing they were, especially at a first camp. 

We had a team member go to the hospital, so please pray for Nick as he recovers from a heart issue that I am unsure of the name. He’s back with us after a night in the hospital during camp, and he’s doing okay, but he still has pain from time to time. We went from #TeamNoHospital to just #TeamNoCrutches, and considering the amount of interns on crutches this summer, that’s truly a streak to be proud of. Myself and my team leader Nelson had food poisoning this week, but it’s not the hospital so we still consider our team to be #TeamHealthy. My nurse mom should be proud!

All in all, I am so honored and joyful to have been part of the Trutnov English camp. Their youth group has so much heart for this ministry and I encourage you to continue to pray for them throughout the year as they continue to grow their youth group and grow in faith in a country where that’s a very hard thing to do. 

This week we’ll head out to our second camp with a team from Pennsylvania to work with a church in Prague. It’ll definitely be a change of pace, as our Trutnov camp had 21 students and this camp will have 50, so please pray for energy, good health among our team, and for the Holy Spirit to be present and moving in the lives of these students we’ll be meeting. Pray for no injuries among camp, because as mild as English Camp sounds, it can get really rough really quickly. Pray for the youth group in Prague as they prepare for this camp and the students as they prepare to come. Thank you for your prayers, and I can’t wait to see how God will work in Prague over the next week and a half. 

In Christ,

Kelley

Leave a Reply

